Parent Testimony
Testimonials
To view recent testimonials click Google Review.
Devi Penmetsa February 2, 2012
Mother

Very happy joining our son at NGMS. We were in search of some good Montessori for him and luckily found this. He's been there from last October and we see a significant change in his communication & behavior. The staff were awesome. Haven't seen a director like Mr. Manooch before.. so caring and responsible for each and every kid. Anyone in search of a quality school need not look any further. A special thanks to Mr. Manooch, Ms.Anne, Ms.Ariane, Ms.Rupa & Ms.Jean..

back to top ↑

Amy Annab January 11, 2012
Mother

Locating a nurturing, caring and well rounded education for my son, age 10, was my only goal when I found NGMS. After an interview process, he was accepted in August 2011 into the elementary class with Ms Aida. Leaps and bounds of behavioral, self assured and responsible changes have been a direct result of the partnership between parent and staff at NGMS. He is a much more secure and confident child, working indepently in class with loving teacher and an amazing group of educators. I would highly recommend an observation period for anyone wanting to experience the gift of education in the best possible setting. Mr Manooch, the director of NGMS truly cares about each individual child, as well as their parents involvement. It's a partnership that you will not regret. If you want to see your child soar, consider an education with NGMS.

back to top ↑

J McCain January 11, 2012
Father

What can I say about the staff at NGMS and about Ms. Anne and Mr. Manooch in particular. They are both incredibly loving, kind, and involved educators, as are all of the staff. NGMS cares about each and every child that attends their school and tends to each of their needs as individuals. They do not have a cookie-cutter mentality. They acknowledge that each child has their own needs and they meet those needs in a loving, encouraging, yet disciplined atmosphere. My son has attended NGMS since June of 2011 and his behavior, attitude, and education have all flourished under their guidance. This school is truly in a partnership with the parents of the children and that is priceless to me.

back to top ↑

Dr. R. A. Lopez January 10, 2012
Father

My son has been in NGMS since the Summer of 2011. I have seen some drastic improvements. The staff at NGMS, teachers, Ann, and Mr. Mannoch is top notch educators. They don't look at children as just another tuition fee but as an individual that they invest their hearts in. If you're looking for a quality school, look no further. Remember, you get what you pay for, and here you get excellence! I whole heartily recommend this school to any parent looking for teachers that will make a lasting and long-term positive impression on your child. Keep up the excellent work NGMS!

back to top ↑

Vanessa Stephens January 5, 2012
Mother

My daughter started at NGMS in the Summer of 2011, since attending we have noticed significant changes in her behavior. She is much more outgoing and confident in what she is doing. When she first started she was very shy & not very outgoing. In her previous school she was just a number and not a name. At NGMS she is an individual who is recognized for her ability to complete tasks and works well with other students. I could not ask for a more caring environment for her to be in. The Teachers, Teacher Helpers & Mr. Manooch have been a blessing for our family. Not only is she is excelling in commmunications she is getting that one-on-one attention that she was needing. She is also being taught how to act like a little lady, respect her friends and her family. I would certainly recommend this school to any parent. Thanks to all of the teachers who are teaching our little princess on a daily basis!

back to top ↑

Lan December 19, 2011
Mother

Finding NGMS is the best thing I have done so far for my almost 4 year old daughter. My daughter has been going to NGMS for almost a year. We cannot be any happier. The teachers and Mr. Manooch are very nice. They really care about the children there. All the teachers are like well-trained moms, taking good care of them and teaching them not only knowledge and social skills at school, but also manners, real manners. It's a good feeling knowing that my daughter is spending her day making progress in her life. The family-like environment is so welcoming and comforting that even my hard-to-warm-up daughter is having fun and feeling at home there. I highly recommend this school to any parents who care about their children's development. Thank you so much for everything.

back to top ↑

Ali & Roya Zamani August 9, 2011
Parents of Negisa

To our dear friends at the wonderful North Garland Montessori School: My wife, Roya and I have two children that have been enriched with the benefit of the Montessori program. We have witnessed all of the changes that almost consequently followed our childrens’ enrollment in your school. They were so well taught that all of our friends would ask how our children were so calm and carefully mannered, and there was only one simple answer to their endless stream of questions: the North Garland Montessori School system. The school’s director, Mr. Manooch has such an effective way with children, he gets them on board quickly, he is stern and still loving. The children are scared of his ability to take away their playtimes if they act up, which is absolutely necessary, and despite their fear they love him and constantly surround him when he enters a room. To my daughter he has been like a second father, she loves him and cherishes him a lot. Both of my children to this day are very nicely mannered to this day and we would like to thank you for your part in it. We want to thank you all extensively for your dedication and help with children everywhere, thank you for all of your patience and hard work, thank you for always having a smile on your faces (especially Ms. Anne & Ms. Aida). Ms. Anne, your contagious sunshine personality is one of a kind, you are a fabulous person and we are so glad our children were always around you. Ms. Aida, thank you for all of your tireless efforts in giving our children an academic challenge every day which set them far ahead of their public school friends. My wife would also like to thank Ms. Rupa and Ms. Ariane for their cordiality and sweetness. And finally, to present and future parents who are considering NGMS, there is not a better school in the metroplex, and the school’s cozy environment is perfect for raising your children. There isn’t a more suitable place to leave your children, there just simply isn’t. Thanks again and God bless you all for your everyday miracles with children.

back to top ↑

Peggy Sostand July 18, 2011
Parent of Jalen

Hello Mr. Manooch,

Jalen will be a Sophomore at Garland High School this year. Jalen plays football and basketball for the the school, he is an A/B student. Jalen is also active with the youth at our local congregation and serves as an usher. Jalen aspires to work in Sports Broadcasting. We are truly grateful for the foundation you help build for Jalen. NGMS believes in every child that enters in; you believed in mine and I am so thankful. The teachers and staff are like family and I appreciate the fact that the doors are always open to us.

back to top ↑

Dorian Price June 24, 2011
Parent of Trey

My son started NGMS at the age of 3.5 years old. He was not talking and showed very limited social interaction. I enrolled him in public preschool special education and after 6 months of attending public school, he didn't show any progress. When the school term was ending at his public school, my husband and I worried that everything he was learning would disappeared over the summer months. After careful consideration, we withdrew him from the public preschool, two months prior to term end. We found NGMS through the internet, had our son do a one day site visit and the school felt he would be a good fit despite his speech delay. Since attending the school for 2 months, our son has been using vowels, sounding letters, singing, and has even been more mild-mannered (while still being a 3-year old). What a great difference. We are equally eagered to see what his next 6 months bring after to viewing how much the teachers care and love working with our son.

back to top ↑

Renee' & Arnaud Le Cousin March 7, 2011
Parents of Ingrid

Our 3 year old daughter Ingrid Le Cousin just started school on Wednesday. We are very impressed with how well she is progressing. She already is showing very good manners towards the family and others. She is starting to help me out around the house and with her 16 month old sister. We are very proud with the job everyone is doing at the school.

Thank you,
Renee' and Arnaud Le Cousin

back to top ↑

Sean & Elena Taylor December 22, 2010
Parents of Cierra

Our daughter has been enrolled in NGMS since she was 3 years old and has progressed extremely well. She loves NGMS and we feel that it is a good fit for her too as at 4 years old she was already reading, writing and spelling extremely well for her age. She also knew all the states and their capitals, the world map and various other things. NGMS taught her to pace herself, focus. and the love of learning new things. We love NGMS. NGMS is focused on ensuring that our children attain the best foundation in education at an early age through 4th grade. Every Friday, our daughter brings home a folder which shows us exactly what she is working on while she is at school. Inside the folder there is usually math work (addition and subtraction in single and double digits), language (German and Chinese), shapes, days of the week, months of the year, colors, numbers/counting, reading comprehension, spelling. Word search, word association and pronunciation, etc. which are all designed to ensure that our daughter learns and able to grasp each concept. At NGMS, she is also taught manners, social etiquette (how to say please, thank you, yes ma'am, yes sir and to patiently wait for acknowledgment if someone is speaking), how to be a leader (they have public speaking in the form of show and tell every Friday) and also how to interact with her classmates without yelling or speaking loudly. She is treated with respect and the teachers actually listen when she speaks. Our daughter began to grasp and advance in the Montessori Method so quickly that we began to teach her additional things at home and purchase workbooks to keep her occupied on the weekends. She knows how to operate the computer (both laptop and desktop pc), play piano, do word puzzles, operate the television and cable remotes, differentiate between dollars and cents and can calculate amounts in her head. Our daughter considers workbooks as fun and loves the challenge it provides her to think.

However, in the fall of 2009, we decided to move our daughter from NGMS and transfer her to Dallas International School (DIS) which has a Pre-K through 12th grade international baccalaureate program. We made the decision, firstly, because DIS requires that new students entering first grade must speak some French. If they enter before 1 st grade, they do not have to know French. Our daughter was about to turn 5 years old so she would be entering DIS as a kindergartner and, therefore, would not need to know French. Secondly, DIS is French-based and teaches all subjects in French. DIS would also teach our daughter to speak and write fluently in two or more languages. They touted that their French-based curriculum is focused on language and academics so we knew that our daughter will be learning to be fluent in French as well as advancing at an extraordinary pace in academics. We were wrong! DIS encouraged us to put our daughter in their summer program before the school year began in order to get her acclimated to the new routine and to get her used to being in an environment where French is the main language. They said it would give us a preview of what to expect during their regular school year and they encouraged us to enroll our daughter in it, which we did. Although the school had already accepted our daughter into their regular school program, we thought it was a good idea to transition her into the new school over the summer as well so that she would get acclimated with the teachers, students and daily routine. To our surprise, the summer program was all play and very little work. We asked the counselor in charge of the summer program why things seemed a bit chaotic and his reply was that since students come from all over the world during the summer, it is hard for the teachers to maintain order. He assured us that the regular school year would not be the same. Once the regular school year began, we noticed that our daughter brought home a few sheets of paperwork with a few letters of the alphabet colored in. We asked our daughter about her first week and she replied, "It's boring!" We asked her why she felt it was boring and she responded with, "I don't do math anymore." We called to talk to her main teacher and we were told that the first week is used to get all the kids back on track after a long summer.

Unfortunately, the second and third weeks were the same as the first. We decided to meet with all of her teachers. At the meeting. We were told that our daughter was the most advanced in her class and she had to be set aside and given separate work from the rest of her class. We were also told by the teachers that the academic curriculum at DIS was comparable to the public school system but excelled at language offerings. After hearing that, we decided that DIS was not a good fit for our daughter. We withdrew her after one summer and three weeks of regular school and put her back in NGMS. We learned that our daughter was not a good fit for DIS and that NGMS was the best for her. Since our foremost thought was our daughter and her advancement, we learned that spending more money does not mean that the higher cost will be a better school or provide better education. NGMS provides the family atmosphere. the educational focus and social interaction that our daughter thrives on.


back to top ↑

Zulfija Nasufi December 4, 2010
Mother of Emir and Azra

When we started looking for schools for our child I was instantly excited for the Montessori methods taught at the school. The diversity of the staff and all the students attend is so pleasant to see. My son was telling me that he wants to visit Africa because a few of his classmates are from there. The structure that is instilled throughout the day has carried on to our home life and has made both of us better parents to our children. An experience that we were so pleased with we enrolled our son at 4 and half years of age and our daughter at 20 months. We are going on our third year of education with North Garland Montessori School. We couldn't be more pleased with our decision.

back to top ↑

Nasreen Ahmadi September 30, 2010
Mother of Ali

With all the horrible experiences my son and I had to deal with in other schools, and how much we both had struggled thinking there was no hope, came North Garland Montessori School. I couldn't be any more thankful and happier with everything going on. My son has improved tremendously right before my eyes. God answered my prayer and blessed me with this wonderful School and a loving and supportive staff.

back to top ↑

Parent September 7, 2010
Mother

My children are now ages 9 and 5. I'm so pleased with this school! Both children started at 18 months of age. They are now both in the elementary class with Ms. Aida.

If you're looking for a place where your children are cared for like family and instructed using the pure Montessori methods taught by Maria Montessori then this is the place for you! There are many schools out there that use the name Montessori but this one is true to form.

My children learned to love learning. They are both performing ahead of the skills required for their ages in public school. I wish I had this benefit at their age.

My first tour I walked into the school and heard classical music and was instantly calmed. As I took the tour and watched the children even those as young as 18 months respecting their classmates and teachers and seeming to enjoy their "work" I was hooked!

I would love to see the school expand to include middle and high school since my son is about to "graduate" from NGMS. Just come by and take a tour, you'll be glad you did!

back to top ↑

Marissa Sanchez August 31,2010
Mother of Ava, Marisol, and Rita

I wanted to thank you and the staff of North Garland Montessori for your work with my girls over the summer. We appreciate you allowing the girls to participate in your program during the summer months. I was tremendously pleased with the progress the girls made during their time with you. I was very surprised to see how much the girls advanced in such a short period.

Ava was so happy to be a part of your school. As a child transitioning from fourth to fifth grade, she was able to strengthen the skills that she had previously learned at her public school and gain additional knowledge. Ava repeatedly said how happy she was to be able to learn new things in such a nurturing and structured environment.

Additionally, your staffs work with Marisol was exceptional. Their work with my daughter was truly outstanding. Marisol came to NGM seeing herself labeled as a "special needs" child because of her ADHD and Dyslexia. These labels have followed her throughout the public school system and unfortunately given her self-esteem issues. In her public school, Marisol was often scared to ask questions and was very self-conscious about being pulled out to work with tutors. At North Garland Montessori, your teachers were able to work with her at her own pace. This helped calm Marisol's nervousness and helped her to focus on learning. During the weeks at NGM, Marisol was able to successfully complete all of her work assignments without having to take her ADHD medicine. This was a critical point that showed Marisol she was capable of learning without having to depend on medication to help her focus. I also noticed that by having Marisol work with younger children, she was able to assume a leadership role. This was very important for her because she often felt insecure about speaking out in class (at her own school) and avoided situations where she would have to demonstrate what she had learned. By working with younger children, Marisol was able to build up her self-confidence about her own abilities and realize that she is an intelligent child. She has now entered the sixth grade with a new attitude confident in herself and her skills.

I cannot thank you enough for all of the wonderful experiences my girls had over the summer. Our family is so grateful to the staff of North Garland Montessori. I knew that my four-year-old was receiving exceptional instruction but have now seen that reinforced with my other girls. Once again, thank you for the opportunity to have my girls be a part of NGM.

back to top ↑

Missy May February 16, 2010
Mother of Nathan

Hello, Nathan wanted to share this information with you. He is doing fantastic. He was accepted at the Classical Magnet school and he has been thriving. He is making straight A's and he is a star member of the Latin Club. Nathan surprised everyone being the youngest to participate in the spelling bee and coming in second place overall. We are so proud of him. Nathan makes a point to credit his academic achievements to his solid foundation that he received at North Garland Montessori. He is so grateful and thankful that he was able to get his start at NGMS. Thank you so much. We will keep you updated on Nathan's progress and we plan to bring him by for a visit one day when he is not in school. He would love to see everyone again.

back to top ↑

Alexia & Shun Foreman June 18, 2009
Parents of Christen and Kortni

Let me begin by saying THANK YOU for your kindness, attention to detail, and most of all your HONESTY. I was told I would see a total transformation in our daughters within six months. It took only one. NGMS has perfected the method of BALANCE. Christen and Kortni entered your school three months ago with no direction and uncertain futures. I truly believe that both of our daughters will leave NGMS prepared to face any challenge presented to them.

Stand up straight, squeeze my hand firmly, act and walk like a young lady, and look me in the eye. These are the things that no other school we visited thought to mention. The small things that you and your staff enforce have made my wife and I become better parents. Mr. Manooch you have a unique way of coaching parents without being forceful about it.

Your staff is first class! Your school is first class! Your evaluation techniques are excellent. We feel that all of our expectations have been exceeded. Being accepted into your family has been a true blessing. Your hard work and sacrifice will forever be appreciated.

back to top ↑

Suguna & Arindam Paul July 31, 2006
Parents of Aditya

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the wonderful two years Aditya had at the school.

Aditya had joined NGMS in the Summer of 2004 and being part of the NGMS family he has grown up with confidence and learned a lot of social and academic skills. The healthy and positive learning environment has instilled in him the confidence and the urge to learn and explore.

Thank you NGMS for being part of our son's development. In fact, as time parents, we have also learned a lot from the teachers and other parents at the school a lot.

The NGMS experience has touched our lives in a very positive manner. Thank you once again.

back to top ↑

Kate Penhallegon May 29, 2005
Mother of Nora

Thank you for taking care of our dear Nora these past two years. We have watched her mature and blossom during her time at North Garland Montessori School.

I know I liked you the first time we spoke on the phone. You spent about twenty minutes describing your school and your philosophy, and your values were right in time with mine. I was so thrilled when we made the decision to send Nora to NGMS.

We are amazed at what she has learned-- reading, math, spelling, and manners. Your school has maintained and emphasized our family values every day Nora came to school. Thank you for caring for her and loving her.

We will look you up when Rosie gets to be the right age. Be prepared, though-- I think she's got a bit of a temper!

back to top ↑

Rev. G. Niel Climer May 29, 2005
Father of Samuel

I would like to inform you that Samuel will be changing schools on August 15 and going to Armstrong Elementary in Sachse. We have made a difficult decision to enroll him in public school, but we may decide at a later time that NGMS may be a place for him to grow as a child. I have thought about this moment for the last couple of days, and I feel like a bird leaving a nest. I hope we fly as we leave the comfort and familiarity of place that nurtured our family in so many meaningful ways.

Would like to share a couple of reflections about NGMS.

One is the openness to all cultures and back grounds. Samuel being Korean found a place where he was accepted and the tremendous diversity of the school will be something hope the public school provides. As we talk with other parents of adopted children, we realize that NGMS blessed our family with a radical acceptance. Thank you.

Two, Samuel has learned so much and his skills at writing and reading frighten us at times and bring us joy. It was the hard work of teachers like Ms. Anne, Ms. Wendy and Ms. Aida who helped evoke an eagerness for leaning. One of our goals for Samuel is that he uses his mind and the foundation laid by NGMS is tremendous. Thank you for developing a discipline in him that is worthy.

We thank you for your partnership in helping us raise Samuel for the last 3 and half years. In 18 months, when Samuel's sibling arrives. NGMS will hopefully be available for our new child to grow in new and familiar ways.

back to top ↑

Lori Madrid May 5, 2005
Letter to Mr. Mayor and Honorable City Councilmen

Education is a focal issue for parents at all times, but it never seems more pressing as the school year closes and preparatiol1 for the next year begins. With this in mind, I would like to take this opportunity to discuss a measure to improve the education system within Garland.

First, I would like to provide you with some background information about myself and my family to enhance your understanding of my position. I live in Rowlett within Rockwall County. The schools within the County are highly acclaimed and have superior state ratings. Despite these factors, I chose to seek out a private school for my children for several reasons. I moved from Jacksonville, Florida to Texas almost two years ago. At the time, my eldest daughter was in a Montessori school for kindergarten.

My primary concern in moving was to find a school that she felt comfortable attending. She is a very tender-hearted child and gets extremely upset when people are cruel to her. In my quest, I contacted schools across the Metroplex. I determined that I would buy a house close to the school that I wanted them to attend, instead of the other way around. Most of the schools I contacted gave me their application information and any preliminary requirements. However, one school stood out. I called North Garland Montessori School and spoke with the director Mr. Manooch Varasteh. He was so passionate about his school and the vision that he had that I knew I had to check out this school first. Several things stood out about this school above others that I should like to delineate further.

The first thing that struck me about the school was how passionate Mr. Manooch was when he spoke about the children and the school. He was most concerned about the children. I never doubt that any decision he makes is always in the children's best interest. Second, the respect shown in the classroom was incredible. Not only did the students respect the teachers, which I think is terribly lacking in many of today's public and private schools, but the teacher's also respected the fact that the students were here to learn.

The teachers are not here to punch in their hours; they created a loving environment where the children know that they are loved and respected. All comments from the teachers are positive in regard to the students. Even reprimands are done with a positive attitude and in a manner that does not degrade the child. Third, character education is emphasized and practiced on a daily basis. Cruelty between the children is not tolerated.

There are no cliques at the school. The children all tend to play well with each other. If there are conflicts between certain children, then the children are immediately taken aside and the situation is discussed. The emphasis of the discussion is how the children's actions hurt the other child's feelings. There is a no tolerance policy on physical violence. Parents at the school are even requested to remove all forms of toys, cartoons, etc. that promote physical aggression from their homes. The children are taught to treat others with compassion and to think about how their actions affect others. In my opinion, this is the greatest rule of character education that children can be taught. These three things alone have made me feel like I have definitely chosen the right school for my children, because I believe that their education involves much more than mere textbook learning.

I invite you to come visit the school and see what practices from this school can be implemented in the Garland school district to improve the education of all children. Mr. Manooch is not just interested in the development of the children here at North Garland Montessori School. We would both like to see the basic principles that I outlined above implemented in all schools across the nation. I believe that the students and teachers would directly benefit from implementing some or the principles that are practiced here daily.

I hope that you honestly consider my proposal to visit the school. Please feel free to contact me personally or North Garland Montessori School if you have any questions.

back to top ↑

Kim Bullock April 20, 2005
Freelance Writer

I just wanted to take a minute to formally thank both you and Ms. Anne for the wonderful job you have done with Sasha during the ten months she has been attending NGMS. As you know, I stayed home with Sasha before enrolling her in school and I was hesitant to part with her. After touring your school I realized that I would be doing my very bright, somewhat shy child a major disservice by not sending her there. I have never once regretted the decision.

In such a short period of time I have watched my daughter thrives under your care. She has made lots of friends and looks forward to going to school every day. She adores her teachers and always wants me to tell them about any new accomplishments she has made. While still a picky eater, she will at least try foods now. She is often complimented on her manners when we are out in public. Academically, she is doing very well and I love that your staff encourages her to challenge herself. I am confident this encouragement has helped a three year old attempt and master putting together a 300 piece jigsaw puzzle on her own.

One thing that I am particularly impressed with is the teamwork between the teachers and the parents at your school. I know that if Sasha develops a discipline problem at home, I can bring it up to Miss Anne and the problem will be addressed at school as well. Many times all it takes is for someone other than me to sit down and talk with her about why her behavior is inappropriate and I will see a complete turnaround when she comes home. This scenario also works well in reverse. I can't think of any other school that cares enough about the child to take on such responsibility. Anytime I hear about parents looking to send their child to a good school, I tell them all about NGMS. My husband sometimes calls me a walking advertisement, but I really am that impressed.

back to top ↑

Kevin Wiggins June 24, 2004
D Magazine's, One of the Best Lawyers Under 40 in Dallas

Thank you so much for all that you and your staff have done for Mitchell. Under the guidance and tutelage of your staff, Mitchell has blossomed in so many areas where others insisted he would fail.

I believe strongly that, because he has enrolled in North Garland Montessori, he has started talking, playing, and interacting with other children far more than he would have in public school. You can't put a price on that. You and your staff believe in him as much as Beth and I do (well, almost as much - after all we are proud parents). For that, we are very grateful.

back to top ↑

Julianne Drost December 18, 2003
Mother of Andrea

Thank you so much for taking the time to show me your Montessori school and also allowing me the opportunity to view our daughter, Andrea, in one of your classrooms. You have a great facility with a wonderful Montessori environment.

During this week I had the opportunity to view three different Montessori schools-all of them with fantastic opportunities for young children. I had quite a decision to make for Andrea in choosing which school to enroll her in.

At this time, my husband and I have chosen to enroll Andrea in another facility other than the North Garland Montessori School-the primary reason being location. Truly, had your school been located closer to Allen, it would have proven to be a very difficult decision. I do want to thank you, again, for allowing me the opportunity to tour your school and meet with you. You have a very special school, and your students and their families are very fortunate to be a part of it.

back to top ↑

Peggy Sostand December 18, 2003
Mother of Ja'len

I know that this letter is long overdue but I will still give credit where it is due. My son Ja'len has been in attendance at your school for almost eight months now, and he has grown since.

He is more mature, his mannerisms have vastly improved and others are amazed at how clearly and well he speaks. Although, he is a boy and he has his own character, I do not expect him to be perfect, there is always room for improvement.

But the foundation that you've laid here will carry him throughout his life; the respect and values you teach will help him and the others to cope with the outside world.

I thank you for embracing my child and giving him what is a rarity in today's world, and that is your time, patience, and a sincere interest in his well being. Thanks again.

back to top ↑

Shonett Ellison February 24,2003
Mother of Rajan

I write this letter on behalf of my son, Rajan, and myself. My son has attended North Garland Montessori for almost 1-1/2 years. The quality of education he has received is culturally enriching and I think that he is a much better person because of all that he has been instilled with.

At 6 years old, my son speaks Korean, German, French, and Spanish and relishes in the opportunities when he can speak in Korean. Recently, on a trip to Los Angeles my son recited some of the words and songs he knew in Korean for my mother and she was in tears. Additionally, he has learned how to play Chess, which I'd just recently decided to learn myself. It is clear that NGMS recognizes a child's potential and ability building on both.

Rajan loves being a big brother to the younger children. Being an only child himself, he thrives on having the opportunity to be a role model to others, as well as having the ability to teach another child how to be a "gentleman". Rajan loves all the children and teachers here at North Garland, which is important to me in his growth educationally and emotionally.

I am more than thrilled that we were able to find this school when we relocated from Los Angeles, California. I know that my son is receiving love, a quality education, and is always safe and properly cared for.

I highly recommend an NGMS education for all children.

back to top ↑

James R. Saunders September 13, 2002
Med, RRT-NPS, RCP

I am writing this letter to thank and praise you and your staff for the wonderful job you are doing teaching my daughter. Before coming to North Garland Montessori, I looked into several schools, among them the "big name" schools. I am very happy that my wife and I choose to place our daughter at your school. My wife and I both hold degrees in the fields of medicine and education. As a health care worker, I am very concerned about the safety of my daughter and found several instances of safety concerns at other schools.

I feel that you and your staff strive to maintain a safe environment for our daughter and feel that you continually seek out new ways to improve the safety of the children enrolled at your school. This comes not only in the form of internal knowledge, but from outside sources with varying fields of expertise as well. My concern for my daughter's safety borders on paranoia and I do not feel the need to call the school and check in on her on a routine basis. This provides me with the ability to focus on my job and other matters during the day. Not to say that I do not miss my child, but rather I have the assurance that she is healthy and being treated well.

As an educator who has worked in the public school system, I realize that the largest hindrance of student performance is not intellect, but rather discipline and motivation. These are the areas that your school excels at providing and are the defining difference academically between North Garland Montessori and other better known schools. The training that our child has received in discipline and motivation has been nothing short of incredible.

Our daughter would not remain still for two minutes and had no desire to engage in formal learning. We could see that she was intelligent by the way she mastered those tasks that she deemed important quickly. This left me extremely concerned that I had a bright child who would not excel in life do to my failure to provide her with the discipline and love of learning that she so desperately needed and deserved. After only several months, she is a different child.

She comes to me requesting that I read her books and works intently on the computer-based learning programs that I have provided for her. Finally, I would like to praise your school for my daughter's opinion of it. It doesn't really matter how happy I am with the school if it discourages my daughter from wanting to learn because she doesn't want to go. If I pass the school on a weekend, she yells, "school today?" and wants to stop. I feel that this is the highest level of praise a school can receive.

A child who wishes she could go to school on the weekends is rare indeed. In conclusion, your school is an excellent choice for anyone who is looking for a place where strong academics are only part of the equation. Your approach to education is very holistic and encompasses all areas of the child's life. From seeking to provide the child with proper nutrition, to nurturing in the child the life skills that will allow them to be successful in whatever the child endeavors to do in life. I can say assuredly that you and your staff take good care of my child, not because of what I see, but because of what she sees. I cannot recommend your school highly enough.

back to top ↑

Frank & Patricia August 28, 2002
Parents

This letter is to express our gratitude for everything you have done for our daughter. I noticed that after she visited your school for two hours, she began answering "Yes, Mom" and "Yes, Dad." Her previous response had been "Yeah" and "No!" After she spent one day in your school, we noticed further improvement in her manners.

Prior to enrolling our daughter in North Garland Montessori School, my husband and I visited another school. The difference was like day and night. The harmony of the environment that you provide bespeaks of a peaceful serenity one seldom encounters. The ambiance the other school maintained lacked in these qualities.

When I made an appointment to visit your school, you asked for my daughter's name and asked me to bring her to the appointment. The other school did not even ask me my name or my daughter's name. Meeting her was not even a fleeting thought; they were simply not interested in her.

In our evaluation, the schools we interviewed were more interested in the money than in the children. You care about the children and not the money. You truly love and care about the children at North Garland Montessori School. No one has ever expressed a concern about our daughter's weight, you did and I know you are sincere. You inquired about her food intake, the types of foods she eats, the type of oil I use in cooking, etc. I believe that our daughter will return to a proper weight at your school by being active in the playground, garden and petting zoo. Thank you again for your concern.

We greatly appreciate the wonderful work you and your staff are doing and the exceptional school that you have created. But most of all, thank you for providing a loving environment where our daughter will learn to be a well balanced, educated individual with proper manners.

back to top ↑

Maria & Gary Brackenridge August 25, 2002
Assistant VP of Economic Development, Executive Corporate Sales

Our daughter Grace Brackenridge joined your school approximately 18 months ago at the age of two. Since Grace joined Montessori she has learned to count to ten in three languages, phonetically sound out words while we are reading, and enjoys art. We look forward to hearing about Grace's day at Montessori during our evening meal. Each day she talks about her accomplishments and those of her classmates.

Both Gary and I have received compliments from other parents and adults in our family and social sphere about how polite and interesting Grace is. She enjoys participating in new things and learning about her environment, experiences Dr. Montessori believed all children should be encouraged to have, regardless of age.

As parents of an only child, we are extremely pleased with Grace's progress and feel confident that she is getting the best experiences a child can. We thank you for all your hard work and partnering with us to raise Grace.

back to top ↑

Phyllis G. April 26, 2002
Father of Dimitri

Thank you so very much for accepting Dimitri into your school.

I enjoyed spending so much time at your school watching Dimitri and the other children. What a different person he is after two days of school! Dad said that he asked to go to the bathroom after leaving the school all day yesterday.

I know that with your guidance, Dimitri will become independent, respectful of his self as well as others and will have a never ending supply of self esteem! That is what I want for him too.

Kostas has always questioned everything I do for Dimitri in the way of care and discipline. You reinforced the way I discipline him at your school and now Kostas realizes that I did not just dream up the Montessori way of care.

What a wonderful difference you have made in the lives of these children and what a wonderful difference they will make in this world because of you and your staff! I am looking forward to the changes in Dimitri.

back to top ↑

Bettina R. April 26, 2002
Mother of Logan

Thank you very much for setting aside time to let Logan and me visit your school. The only reason we would want Logan to go to school is so that he can learn what we can't teach him and be influenced by positive people.

He went to the Mother's day out program so that he could learn social skills and learn how to be a part of a group in a loving environment.

Now we are looking for more. I have come to realize that no matter how much we love Logan we are not able to give him all that he deserves.

My best assets are my outgoing personality, giving attitude and desire to give Logan all he deserves, unfortunately that doesn't appear to be enough.

My parenting skills have a lot of room for growth. I still think that Logan is practically perfect in every way, but I am afraid that I am not able to capture his true potential. I want to learn and am willing to be a student.

Although Logan and I were only at your school for two hours, I earned a lot.

Logan said his favorite part of being at the school was when the kids asked if they could be excused. He really enjoyed visiting your school. He is very rambunctious but good hearted. We have a lot of wonderful qualities, but we also have a lot of weaknesses.

The environment that you provide and the values you instill are the same as what we want. Our goal is to learn how to raise Logan into the respectable, intelligent, successful, humble, happy goal oriented adult he has the potential of becoming, but I see that we have started some bad habits that may hold him back, and if we are to change, this is the time to do it.

I can see such a positive difference in him and we were only at your school for 2 hours and only home for 2 hours, it brings tears to my eyes. I can go on and on about how excited I am to have met you and your staff, students and parents.

Logan and I spent some time with Dad, Grant, and shared with him, to the best of my ability, what we were able to gather from you today.

I think that Grant was able to see the difference those 2 hours with you made in us, and he likes the results. We see the value you bring is very well worth the tuition you ask.

We hope that you and your teachers will let Logan spend a day with you to see if we can be a part of your school.

back to top ↑

Tonie & Rick Mikulastik April 24, 2002
Parents of Molly, Gunner, and, CJ

It has been a pleasure having Molly, Gunner, and CJ in your school. They have matured considerably over the past year and their learning skills have been enhanced tenfold.

Ms. Aida and Ms. Anne have been a blessing in our children's lives. Their dedication to educating children is obvious and we can't thank them enough for their commitment. Gunner says that Mr. Figueroa is, "a happy man." All of my children speak very highly of him.

CJ especially has enjoyed learning Soccer and Chess. CJ speaks very highly of his Science Teacher also and carries her picture on his lunch box. You have an outstanding committed staff.

It is with regret that I must inform you we are relocating them to a different school. We want to have the kids closer to our work environment so that we are able to be more involved in their educational process.

We are missing valuable time during their young years to be a part of their day and to participate in school functions. Having them near our work will allow us to do this on a regular basis.

We have come to appreciate the Montessori method of educating children due to the commitment of educators at your school. I only hope the new school will uphold the high standards we have seen in North Garland Montessori.

Their last day at North Garland Montessori will be May 31st, 2002.

Again, thank you for providing such a healthy and positive learning environment for our children. Your commitment to education has left a positive mark on the lives of our children and we are extremely grateful.

back to top ↑

Mercedes & Roberto Santiago March 2, 2002
Parents of Sarah and Hector

We are writing this letter in appreciation of each and every person from your staff, who have helped us shape the development of our children Sarah and Hector. It is amazing what can happen when you have caring people who are willing to work cooperatively.

We started researching pre-k program when Sarah started showing signs of misbehavior and aggressively. We had to move Sarah from day-care to day-care due to her behavior and frequently applied to different schools with little success. Also, we look for "professional" assistance therapists, psychologists, Psychiatrists with no or negative results.

The quick and convenient answer of the medical community was ADD/ADDHD or Defiance Disorder and within a half-hour a prescription. We decide not to give any medication, instead we start looking for the correct answers.

Finally, we found that program in the North Garland Montessori School, (NGMS), but we were very concern, if our children will ever got adjusted to the rules of the school. We were worried that due to Sarah's hyper-activity and Hector tendencies to follow her that the staff at NGMS would opt to take the easy road and ask us to remove our kids. It did not happen, not only has Sarah's behavior improved, but also she is able to sit and learn thanks to wondrous efforts of the personnel at NGMS.

Ms. Ann and Mr. Manooch worked very hard and patiently with Sarah and Hector. Mr. Manooch was always willing to work with us trying different approaches to get through to Sarah. They help us a great deal the major lessons learn were to be supportive of the kids, their efforts and the hope that tomorrow will be a better day. One thing at a time and one day at a time things have gotten much better.

After much work and travelling across international borders, we found that Sarah has a mild form of epilepsy, she is taking the appropriate medication and becoming a happy well-adjusted child. Sarah and Hector have matured, and yes, each day both of them stop and say "good morning", "excuse me...I will see you tomorrow morning, thanks you too".

As we see new parents, with the same concern look we had, in Mr. Manooch's office. We want you to know that if anyone can help, these good people can. Discipline, lots of love and understanding along with a good team can work miracles for your children.

Certainly, going through the darkness of the unknown will intimidate any child. In the process of learning, if a child has on one-side great teaching team and on the other-side caring parents, then the child will walk through the darkness, emerging no worst for the ware. They will find at the end of darkness the "light of the knowledge".

Thanks Mr. Manooch, Ms. Ann, Ms. Aida, Mr. Figueroa, Ms.Wendy and Ms. Rupa for being part of this team.

Thanks for being role models to our Kids!

back to top ↑

Charles & Krista Goodness October 28, 2001
Parents of Justin

In appreciation of all that you and your staff have done for our son Justin, who is now five years old, we as Justin's parents just wanted to send a note of thanks.

In the time that our son has been at North Garland Montessori School his behavior has undergone giant improvements. He is now exhibiting a calm and considerate manner and he is positively beaming with pride now that you and your staff have shown Justin how to control his own behavior and have allowed him to benefit from the structured and caring learning environment of your school.

Before we found North Garland Montessori School we had become two very discouraged parents. Justin's behavior was very problematic and his inability to control his disruptive and sometimes aggressive behavior had resulted in 12 expulsions from pre-school and day care facilities in the Dallas area.

As Justin's parents we tried everything recommended by pediatricians, child psychologists, and child psychiatrists. We tried numerous parenting strategies, and as a last resort Justin was placed on ADHD medication.

None of these efforts prevented the almost daily calls from his child care facilities stating that Justin was acting out and must be picked up at once. A dozen times over two years came the inevitable expulsions.

Everyone agreed that Justin was extremely intelligent and had many periods of charming and pleasant behavior, but neither ourselves, nor medical professionals, nor any of the previous child care facilities could contain the almost daily outbreaks of verbal and physical acting out that Justin would exhibit.

At the time that North Garland Montessori School agreed to give Justin a chance, we were "sitting on pins and needles" wondering if Justin's behavior and low self esteem would in any way benefit from your school and the supervision and guidance of your dedicated staff.

We cannot express the joy we have felt as Justin's behavior has downshifted to a calm and normalized state. He has now been off of the ADHD stimulant medication for many weeks.

The look of pride on his face when we pick him up from the tranquil environment of your school each day is pleasant memories that will stay with us for a lifetime.

Whatever the complex reasons for Justin's previous negative behavior were, it is plain to see that the skill and caring of your staff and the efficacy of your facility's overall approach to young children has turned Justin's behavior around 180 degrees, and has in the process given our family a priceless gift.

We will never be able to thank you and your staff enough!

back to top ↑

Tushar Bina October 5, 2001
Mother of Bijal

This letter has been long overdue and I want to thank each and every one of you for being so patient and providing the well-rounded foundation for Bijal's further education.

It is with regret that we asked for the departure of Bijal from your establishment. She had been offered a place in the Watson Technology Center for Math and Science in the 1st Grade. She has been excelling at whatever she does and is well liked by the teachers and her classmates.

All this comes from the service for excellence, the solid foundation that you and your teachers have provided for not only Bijal but for all the rest of the students.

I like to thank Ms. Ann for being there to start Bijal's new path to education in the beginning and assisting her in getting to the Kindergarten grade level within 4 months. She faced many challenges with Bijal since this was her first attempt at reading, writing and talking in English. That is a sign of a good and experienced teacher with a lot of patience.

I like to thank Ms. Aida for carrying that legacy, where Bijal entered in to her Kindergarten grade level of learning. You miss Aida are the ultimate in making children learn the new languages, art of mannerism and the total attention to learning experience for all students equally. Bijal misses you very much and we ask you that you keep in touch with her.

I want to thank Mr. Figueroa for providing the same form of learning as the other wonderful staff. He balances the children's need and assists them in the most calm, polite, playful and wonderful manner that the children feel most attentive. Let's not forget the Soccer practices he had during the spring and summer time!

Last but not least I like to thank the rest of the staff for being there where the teachers left off. They are a wonderful bunch with the most important things in their minds: the children's safety and surroundings. They are there when children are at their most vulnerable part of the day. It takes a lot of patience to handle so many children at that part of the day.

North Garland Montessori School is an excellent place of children's education not only academically, but in the areas of discipline as well, which is what education is really about. Discipline taught at home is so different from those taught in the school and each are important in their own ways.

My wife, Bina, and I want to thank you and your staff for giving my daughter Bijal such a wonderful learning environment. She joined NGMS curriculum in January 2000. This was her first formal educational/learning environment where she settled in without any problems. This is contributed to the excellent staff and standards you abide by. I have seen you and the staff with my daughter and am pleased to state that I was at peace while in your care. It is not surprising to us that she adjusted so well and looked forward to going to school every day. We constantly monitored her progress and were never disappointed in your teaching methods or your staff. We saw the rapid rate of growth in Bijal's education, personal, and social skills she was taught at her own pace, unlike other institutions that are quite the opposite of NGMS.

Bijal was comfortable in a loving, nurturing, motivating, organizing, peaceful and disciplinary atmosphere. Bijal learned Phonics, Alphabets, Continents, drawing, writing, counting, gardening and other activities that were not fully taught at home by us in the time spent with us. She made a lot of friends and built rapport with all of them including the teachers.

It is important for children to be treated with respect and that seems to be a number one priority at NGMS and I saw that in our children. An environment that encourages and stimulates young minds at the most crucial time of their lives is all worth it, and yours is one of them. The direct and constant impact on their lives will have an implicit effect on their future lives and their approach in tackling obstacles as they go forward.

I see that we made one of the most intelligent and meaningful decisions that we have ever made by choosing NGMS.

I wish you all the best in all your future endeavors and continued dedication, hard work in forming and providing the essential basis in any child's growth. Your school has a tremendous potential for future growth and improvements.

back to top ↑

Melanie Hunter September 29, 2001
Attorney at Law

This summer you so very kindly allowed my daughter, Elisabeth, to attend NGMS for two weeks. Elisabeth had been struggling with math, and we were facing fourth grade with some trepidation.

Elisabeth just got her first report card from the fourth grade. ALL "A's"!!! We are so pleased and grateful for the influence that you and Miss Aida had on her understanding, and her calm confidence in entering school.

back to top ↑

Yvonne Hahn August 13, 2001
Mother of Elizabeth

As you discussed with my husband Tim last week, we will be withdrawing our daughter Elizabeth, from North Garland Montessori School effective September 1, 2001.

I would like to express my gratitude to you and your staff, however, for everything you've done for Elizabeth. In the past 15 months, she has made great strides academically and even more importantly, she LOVES to learn. At NGMS, her inquisitiveness was fostered, her creativity encouraged.

She has learned a lot socially as well and is learning to verbally communicate her feelings. Now she tells me, "Mommy, I'm so proud of you," when I do something she likes. And she also tells me, "Mommy, that's not acceptable," when I do or say something I shouldn't. (She is my conscience.)

Thank you all for the love and personal attention you have given to Elizabeth. She is no longer a baby, but a "young lady", and you have made me a believer in the Montessori System.

back to top ↑

Tonie Mikulastik July 25, 2001
Pressroom Analyst

About a month ago CJ told me that he wanted to return to his old school. "Why do you want to go back there?", I asked him.

"The kids at my new school are nice and I know how to be nice now." "So, don't you feel safer at the new school?" "Yes", he replied. "Why would you want to change schools when you are doing so well?", I asked.

"I don't want to change schools Mom!", he said with much excitement, "I know how to be a nice person now and I want to go to my old school for just one day and teach those mean kids how to be nice too!" he responded.

I have been meaning to share this with you every day since he told me but keep forgetting to do so. Your school is everything you told us it would be and we are very pleased with the results.

CJ is reading to me in the evenings from a book called I Can Read It. I'm amazed at how much he has learned in such a short time. He loves Ms. Ida and we love all your staff.

In addition to the above, I would like to ask that Molly and Gunner be seen as individuals and that Molly not be held back waiting on Gunner. Or vise versa should it occur.

I know some parents of twins want the kids to achieve at the same time and move along at the same pace. We want them to achieve at their own rate and move along as merit warrants it to occur.

I'm sure you already do this.

Thanks again for providing such a terrific learning environment for my children.

back to top ↑

Kimberly Kenyon April 19, 2001
Mother of Gavin

We are in Houston now and we miss NGMS very much. I was rather apprehensive about placing my child in the care of others because of all the horror stories about Day Care that I had heard on the news.

I thank you from the bottom of my heart for the peace of mind that I had knowing that he was surrounded by such love and warmth at NGMS.

When I first brought Gavin to your school I was afraid that he would be unhappy because he was not at home with me. Quite the opposite was true, though.

He loves your wonderful staff and you so much that he still talks about you all. He learned so much in the short time that he was with you.

He still remembers what he was taught about sharing and playing with others. Unlike most 2 year olds, he actually asks other children if he can play with them, and he is happy taking turns.

It is such a shame that we had to move. I only hope that I can find a school here with the same quality of people that you employ.

Once again, thank you so much for your kindness and high quality childcare. It is so refreshing to see a school that cares more for the children, and parents, than for money.

back to top ↑

Susan Chang April 11, 2001
Mother of Daniel

I just wanted to let you know how much Ashley and Daniel had enjoyed being at NGMS and welcoming Daniel back with open arms. When Ashley and Daniel were attending NGMS, they both developed academically, socially and emotionally. NGMS provided a place where I could leave my children and feel confident that they were in a safe and nurturing environment.

The greatest benefit I noticed from my children attending NGMS was that they had developed a love of learning. The nurturing environment and the Montessori way of teaching that NGMS provides fostered this love of learning.

My greatest mistake was withdrawing Daniel from NGMS when we moved to Plano because NGMS was too far from our new home. I enrolled Daniel in a Montessori school in Plano thinking that Daniel would benefit as much as he did at NGMS. I was very wrong.

In the year he was in the new school he had not developed academically and socially as I has hoped. It was very important that I had confidence in the school that Daniel was attending and that he was safe. This new school did not meet my expectations. Daniel had gotten hurt more than he did at home.

I realized that just because a school has the Montessori name affiliated with their organization does not mean that they will actually practice the Montessori teachings. Furthermore, many schools out there are not concerned about our children but treat our children as money machines.

NGMS is a great school. There are very few schools like NGMS that truly love our children and want to provide the safest and most caring environment for the child. NGMS truly practices the Montessori teachings and provides a place where each child can develop at his or her own pace so that each child can reach his or her full potential.

In addition, NGMS encourages parents to meet each other and talk to each other, which is very important for our children to see. A parent can feel confident that when his or her child is at NGMS his or her child will be well taken care of and will learn a great deal academically.

I would like to thank you for providing a great school and I know Daniel will enjoy being at NGMS again.

back to top ↑

Candace Overton December 31, 2000
Mother

Our 3 year old daughter has attended NGMS since August of this year. When we began here she was so full of energy and thirst for stimulation, but was not satisfied with the typical dare care environment.

Since then she has made so many accomplishments in her speech, writing skills, manual dexterity, etc. Her social skills are also improving, which I believe is due to the calming environment at the school. Our daughter needs structure more than anything, and she receives it at NGMS. She thrives in an environment where she knows her boundaries.

We applaud your efforts.

back to top ↑

Yvonne Hahn December 18, 2000
Mother Of Elizabeth

When we enrolled our daughter Elizabeth in NGMS almost 6 months ago, we did so because we felt she needed to be with other children and be intellectually stimulated.

We were in no way prepared for what has happened in her life. One of the biggest changes we have noticed is her independence. When she first began at NGMS, she was almost three and did not want to do much for herself. Now she does not want me to do anything for her. She also wants to care for her baby sister all by herself. She has learned to explain things to younger children and soothe their upsets.

I hear her saying to her baby sister, "Now, now, Olivia. No more tears, no more tears" and, "We don't do that here." In addition to what she's learned socially, my husband and I are highly impressed with the intellectual strides she has made.

Last week she was singing in the car in what sounded like gibberish...then my husband and I looked at each other in astonishment as we realized she was singing a song in German! Elizabeth delights in practicing her newfound academic skills and we feel like it probably won't be very long before she begins reading.

Finally, what impresses me the most about NGMS is the support that is provided for the families of the students. I realize that the home life of the student very much affects how that child performs at school, and I can't thank you enough for the support you and your staff has given to me over the past 6 months.

On more than one occasion, I have been very concerned about Elizabeth's behavior or development. And when I've asked for advice, it has been freely and enthusiastically given. NGMS has helped me to become a better parent and, in turn, to provide a home environment that encourages learning and tolerance.

We are thrilled that Elizabeth has the opportunity to attend NGMS and we thank you so much for providing an environment of love, acceptance, structure and learning for our child.

back to top ↑

David & Vanessa December 1, 2000
Parents of Kyle

I also wanted to take a moment to tell you what a pleasure it was to have Kyle in your school. In all honesty, in the beginning we looked at your school to get Kyle out of a horrible situation at another school he was in and was terribly unhappy in.

However, it took only a few days to see that this was more than just another day-care situation like we had experienced in the past. Certainly, there were other options that were cheaper but all along we wanted to find a situation that Kyle enjoyed and also flourished in regardless of whether it cost a few more dollars a month.

We found that in your school, and we saw Kyle progress more in four months there than he did in three years at other schools. Not only was he comfortable there and enjoyed going there but his development was nearly astonishing during these four short months.

We are sold on the Montessori style of schooling but more importantly, we are sold on the particular school that you are building in Garland. I hope the children and parents that are there right now appreciate the gift they are giving to their children by placing them in your care and tutelage. If not, once they have to leave for whatever reason they will understand what they will be missing.

We have very few ties to Dallas and do not mind leaving. However, the one regret and the one thing that makes it exceedingly hard for us to leave Dallas is taking Kyle out of your school. I thank you for the time you spent with Kyle and we have confidence that even these four short months spent with you will continue to impact him throughout his life.

It is our sincere regret that he did not get to spend more time there but we are also thankful that he did get to spend the time he did there. You have a wonderful school and we hope to keep in touch somehow to let you know how the fruits of your labors are paying off in Kyle's continued development and also how you will continue to develop your school into more than just a school but rather a place which will positively impact the lives of all the children who come there.

Thank you for your work with Kyle and if you ever consider expanding and creating a new school, please consider Reno. We will be your first clients!

back to top ↑

Elizabeth Baltzer November 29, 2000
Mother

We adopted our little boy from Romania in May and he started NGMS in July. John could only say 3 words at that time, but now he knows at least 150 + and he is so happy.

I have no problems getting him to go to school; he is so excited to go he just loves it! I think that speaks volumes for a 2-year-old to love to go to school for how good the teachers and the director are at NGMS.

We cannot thank them enough for the confidence, caring and the love they have given our little boy! We know he will have a bright future with the great foundation he is getting at NGMS.

back to top ↑

Dyanne Tolleson July 18, 2000
Mother of Nicholas

I would like to share with you the feelings of our family, with regard to our grandson, Nicholas Tolleson, and North Garland Montessori School.

My husband and I have cared for our grandson for the majority of his life, and although he is only 4 years old, his life has indeed been tumultuous, if not tragic. There have been many situations and instances throughout his young life that have led him to exhibit uncommon behavior, emotional outbursts and depression. Through all of this however, he has shown great potential for learning and reasoning.

We have had Nicholas in many "day care" programs that proven disastrous. His self-esteem has taken a beating at the hands of such programs, and I must tell you that we were desperate to find a solution when Nicholas was enrolled in North Garland Montessori School.

Since he began classes at NGMS Nicholas' entire personality has changed. He has made tremendous strides (behavioral improvements) and formed new habits (manners, respect for others) that have made us so very proud--as well as grateful. Nicholas has always been a very caring and loving little boy, but (in the past) he would have so many outbursts in the span of a day that toward the end of the day I found myself exhausted and longing for us both to be asleep. But since attending NGMS there has been such an improvement that we can now function as a family in a much more loving, stable environment. It is very obvious that the structure of the programs offered is of great benefit to him.

Nicholas brings home his papers from school, explaining to us what he has made and is very anxious to share his accomplishments. We hang his papers up for everyone to see. He likes to share with us the events of the day, and tells me when he learns a new song or a phrase in French. This is so enjoyable to us to have him enjoy going to school!

Nicholas loves (challenging) building toys, and games that require logical thinking, and he seems to engage in these activities in the afternoons before I pick him up, (if he is not outside on a warm day). He is the only child in our home, so interaction with other children is limited except for school, and the occasional chance to visit with cousins. Nicholas genuinely cares for the other children at school. This is why I am so excited to have found an outlet that encourages his growth as an individual and learning new things(that may prove to be of great interest to him).

I want to take this opportunity to say that we profoundly appreciate you and your entire staff. The actions of a few can indeed impact so many, and as I watch Nicholas in the school setting....... I see that we have made one of the most intelligent and meaningful decisions that we have ever made by choosing this school.

back to top ↑

Ghassan & Davide Mroue July 13, 2000
Parents of Zack

We enrolled Zack on February 1st of this year (2000) He had just turned 3. We had never placed Zack in a daycare or school of any kind, so you could say we were completely apprehensive about childcare.

However, Zack was getting older and needed to develop social skills and be in an environment outside his home. So we looked at many schools (with disappointment) until we reached N.G.M.S. We were totally at ease with this school and all the teachers and students in it.

Zack has grown in so many ways that can only be attributed to the staff and curriculum here. Zack is so happy attending this school that when he gets up in the morning, he is in a good mood and anxious to begin his day with his teachers and friends.

He has made friends, learned his alphabet, numbers, songs, and how to go to the potty!! HOORAY! We are so proud of our son's achievements and that we enrolled him here.

Our only regret was that we didn't do it sooner. Many thanks to Mr. Manooch, Ms. Anne, Ms. Crystal, Mr. Chung, Ms. Fernandez and Ms. Rupa. You all really do make a difference.

back to top ↑

Gary & Sheila Short June 18, 2000
Parents of Dylan

I just wanted to drop a line to say how thrilled we are to have Dylan at NGMS. We had him in a small private daycare prior to NGMS, and we were apprehensive at first, putting him in a larger environment than what he was accustomed to with all the new faces.

Our fears were unfounded. He has flourished, and is learning at a tremendous rate. The kindness and respect he has received from the staff has given him the self-confidence to grow very happily. Now our only problem is talking him into leaving school each day.

back to top ↑

Jennifer & David Odhiambo June 6, 2000
Parents of Bianca

Bianca was one of the first students in your school, and has excelled beyond our expectations considering she was premature. (2 months early) We have genuinely appreciated all the teachers and times that we have had in your school, and the only reason that Bianca leaves is because she is so far ahead at this point academically, reading grade three books and math grade two -three level at 6 years.

The Garland Independent School suggested that we have her tested, also since her birthday falls after September 1st she would be delayed a year. Therefore when they accepted her at one of their exemplary schools we had to act immediately.

The NGMS is held in high regard by the GISD administration as they rarely accept students in the middle of the semester also she will be in grade two at six next semester, as opposed to going to grade one.

You have helped us in bringing up our child with exceptional values; no nonsense but extremely loving environment where education, independence, and positive interaction are reinforced daily. I was privileged to be part of the uniform committee and was happy that the school placed the parents concerns before their own.

The teamwork and genuineness of the staff to the parents only helps in the advancement of the child. She has made lifetime friends that she meets at birthday parties and the love among them is unmatched, she misses Alyssa, sees Lily, Shae, Michelle just to name a few.

It is difficult to express what your school does to kids, but I have seen firsthand kids coming in not knowing how to read or write and yet flourishing because of the patience of the teachers and the students, and in a few weeks they are able to.

I have many memories of Montessori, my worst being my attempt to pick up the child from school at 3pm or 4pm and Bianca in tears, as she begs me to let her stay in school, because she still wanted to read, or she had to play chess or plant in the garden and play with her friends.

At first I thought I needed therapy since my child did not want to go back home, she would hurry to school as early as possible and would leave at 6pm. I often felt very silly being three minutes away from the school, and being returned home over one hundred times (one can try). Anyway I also recall a number of parents who would at the beginning pick up their kids at three, and would laugh at me only to see them also being turned away...ha!

We appreciate the grand gesture of bringing her to the after-school for absolutely nothing, we are not only honored, but she is elated, and we will return as soon as she adjusts. The best memories have been carried on as I realized that this child did not want to watch TV at all, and being told to turn it off because she wanted to read.

It is amazing, in three weeks Bianca has read over 60 books... she is at 20 books a week and loves exploring new words and reads in the car, while visiting friends etc, your school made studying fun and this my husband and I owe your school, all the gratitude, because if the students do not get it when they are young then studying becomes a chore, a great recipe for failure.

Finally, We would like to extend our thanks to the staff at NGMS for the love, concern and education that you have given my family. How rare for a child to be in a school for three years and yet the parent have absolutely no problem whatsoever with the school.

You have an exceptional patient and loving staff, not to mention Mr. Manooch and Mrs. Hernandez who in the midst of difficult events placed the kids first, You are the best!!

NGMS is the best investment we ever made it has paid off. You gave her wings and now she can fly. She is well equipped.

Thank You...Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

back to top ↑

Tina & Andre Vaguine December 18, 1999
Parents

Both of our daughters attend North Garland Montessori. So far we are pleased with the results. Our oldest started with the school when she was 3 1/2 years old, she just turned five in February. She is already reading simple books and has mastered addition. She is currently learning subtraction.

Our youngest started when she was 3 years old, she just turned 4 in March. To our amazement she have learned all her letter sounds, and when she is at home she is able to sound out the words from her sister's beginner reading books.

We like how the Montessori method teaches the child to be an individual, it also teaches the child how to learn.

back to top ↑

Nannette Napier December 6, 1999
Mother of Alyssa and Sean

I hope this letter finds you doing well. Alyssa and Sean have both settled into a Montessori school near our home in Marietta GA. Covered Bridge Academy. Carlton Is on the waiting list for the toddler class.

After visiting schools in the Atlanta area, I am even more impressed with the quality and value that NGMS school offers. The teachers really provide individual care and attention based upon each child's ability.

At 5 Alyssa was placed in the lower elementary program and is finding the 2nd grade work easy.

Thanks again for giving her such a good start.

back to top ↑

Stella Lin July 23, 1999
Mother of Calvin

My husband and I want to thank you and your staff for giving my son Calvin such a wonderful learning environment. Calvin came to NGMS in fall of 1997 when he almost turned four.

He went to another day care center for almost a year before then but he still refused to go to that school every day.

It surprised me when Calvin liked to go to NGMS just right after he started but It did not surprise me after I felt the loving, nurturing, motivating, organizing, peaceful and disciplinary atmosphere myself that Calvin actually loves to go to school every day.

It has been almost two years now and within the past year I was so proud of Calvin and NGMS that Calvin grew and learned so much. He learned all the phonics (even though he corrects my pronunciation all the time) counting, and most important, how to be around with other kids.

He talked a lot of his friends and teachers at school whom obviously he has a very good relationship with.

I am very impressed by everyone working at NGMS. It is through these people that Calvin is learning everything from. They are friendly, professional and caring. I am so confident and comfortable to put my son in NGMS for 8 hours a day because I know he is with the "family".

Thank you, " Mr. Manooch", "Ms. Ann ",Ms. Rupa", "Ms. Hernandez" and all others…. for your hard work and dedication. God bless you all!

back to top ↑

Shawn King July 12, 1999
Father of Jordan

I wanted to take the time to thank you and your staff at NGMS.

My daughter Jordan started attending your school this past April. I have been truly grateful for having found your facility, with its enjoyable environment and friendly staff and students.

Jordan has benefited greatly from being a student at NGMS. The attitude and the approach used by the teachers are truly refreshing. The positive response to teaching is the element that is lacking in our educational system today.

I feel it is so important for children to be treated with respect and that is a priority at NGMS. This is an environment that encourages and stimulates young minds at the most crucial time. What they experience now will have a direct effect on their future and approach to education.

Thank you so much for giving my daughter a firsthand experience of what learning is all about.

back to top ↑

Rahul Wala July 15, 1999
Father of Kajal

My wife and I would like to thank you for allowing our daughter, Kajal to experience your school. It has surely been a wonderful experience for her. She has been benefited both academically and in the areas of discipline since her enrollment.

It is with our deep regrets that we have to take Kajal out of NGMS. since we are moving out of Garland.

We would like to thank you and all of your staff members for the patience, kindness and personal attention You have given to Kajal in trying to bring out the best in her.

Hope you continue with dedication, the good work of molding today's young minds into tomorrow's bright future.

Thank you once again for all that you have done.

back to top ↑

Kathryn Owen June 30, 1999
Parents of Savannah

My husband and I want to thank you for allowing our granddaughter, Savannah, to experience your school while we were in town. The quality of your teaching is outstanding and we wish that we could find the same for Savannah in California where we currently Reside. If we relocate permanently to the area, we would appreciate you and your staff considering accepting Savannah at your school. Again, thank you for sharing your school and your mission to educate children with us.

back to top ↑

Charles Sunwood April 27, 1999
Father of Arekson

I just like to express my appreciation for the fine program that you have at NGMS.

Arekson has been benefited phenomenally since his enrollment at NGMS. It is my deep regret that I take Arekson out of NGMS this coming fall.

In terms of academic excellence and individual attention teachers have on each child. I do not think there is a school which can top NGMS. I also like the fact that NGMS recognizes that each child has different ability and different rate at which one can absorb information, and incorporates this fact in teaching methods on a daily basis.

I believe one's religious walk should take precedence over education. That is the reason why I have decided to enroll Arekson at Trinity Christian Academy where the teachings of Jesus and education can walk in parallel.

I believe NGMS is an excellent place of children's education not only academically, but In the areas of discipline as well, which is what education is really about. It also has a tremendous potential for future growth.

It is rare to see man involved in primary education. Your presence and intimate involvement with the children are really a major strength of NGMS. I hope that you will continue to be intimately involved with each one of your students.

I would also like to thank Mrs. Hernandez and Ms. Anne for their kindness, personal attention and dedication to overall teaching of my son and the rest of the students.

back to top ↑





North Garland Montessori School - Failure is not an option